life is beautiful :)

Are you free?

Today, me and my little brother were flying a kite here on the shooting field, and I couldn’t help but notice that I haven’t been doing that for a really long time. It’s fascinating how simple the kite is, you can easily make it yourself, but still, it offers you just as much (or more) joy than a half a thousand euroes worth iPad or something similar. And that is just the thing that the older generations are often trying to tell us, how they didn’t have computers and as much tehnology and still they managed to enjoy themselves. Would I like it that way? Would I live their life? Most likely not, but I admit though, it’s fun to do it once in a while. :)
And now, for the first image on my new blog, I present to you, our infamous kite!

On the other hand, besides the fact that flying a kite is really calming and fun, you might also look at the kite as a synonym for freedom, perhaps even joy or happiness? Needless to say, people underestimate and sometimes even misunderstand the double meaning of the word freedom, the one that everybody should be trying to achieve and not just those, whose freedom has been physicaly taken from. There’s an old french saying that I really like and it goes like: I know but one freedom and that is the freedom of the mind” and it really connects with what I’ve said here so far.And now that I’m looking back at what I wrote, I’m starting to notice, that no matter how hard I try to keep these things here simple, my mind always seem to take me a bit more to the philosophical way, which is not really what I initially intended, but if that’s the way it’s going to be, then as the The Beatles famous song says, “Let it be”.

I’ll be closing for tonight with an ironic image about society that we live in and the life capitalism itself expects us to have, and with a deep question about life, I’d like you to ask yourself right now,

Are you free?

Leave a Reply

